It’s Raining, It’s Pouring

With the first rain of the year falling today I thought it was an appropriate time to talk about attire for these rainy days.  As a native Californian, I can handle about 2 days of rain without going completely insane.  My mom would always joke that Californians don’t know how to dress for winter, and as I was walking on campus today, trying to shield myself from the downpour, I realized how right she was.  All around me I saw men wearing sandals, girls wearing Converse, and everyone’s jeans dripping from the rain.  Even though we don’t get too many days of rain here, I still think a proper rain wardrobe is a requirement for any college student.

College Fashion had  an article What to Wear on a Rainy Day during those June gloom days.  But if the meteorologists are right, and we have another El Nino year on our hands, we better start suiting up early!  Here are some tips and outfit ideas to brighten up those damp days.

*Add some color to your outfit.  A bright scarf, like this one from Forever 21, can instantly give you a boost, and add some much needed color to your wardrobe.67359553-02 Photo Credit: Forever 21

*Invest a cute pair of rain boots.  It seems that just about every girl at Cal Poly owns a pair of rain boots.  There are so many different styles, colors, and options for boots to fit any budget.  These are my favorite cheap pair of rain boots- for less than $30, you can’t go wrong.  However, after seeing Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere rocking these adorable rain boots, I’ve been desperately trying to save my money to afford these great wellies.pink-wellies Photo Credit: enFashion

*Adding an umbrella is a great way to accessorize any outfit.  I’ve seen many girls carrying little kids umbrellas, which are so cute and fun.  Target has a great bubble umbrella which will really keep you dry.  Old Navy has this great umbrella for only $10. on699669-03vliv01 Photo Credit: Old Navy

*As far as outfits go, layering is key. I suggest wearing a long-sleeve tee underneath a sweater, underneath a windbreaker or something that can get wet.  As far as jeans, they’re bound to get wet unfortunately.  You could forgo jeans and don a pair of leggings, but no matter what you run the problem of getting drenched.

One of my favorite rainy day outfits, for those days that aren’t as much cold as they are wet, is a dress with a jacket and a pair of boots. rainy-day-outfit-2 Photo Credit: College Fashion

Those Doc Marten boots are really bright, so if you have more of a classic style, you could always pair the dress and jacket with a pair of rain boots.

I hope you stay dry, yet fashionable on those rainy days!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

